sand dollar sea-themed birthday card

This birthday card was the first project I used Faber-Castell Gelatos on and I am looking forward to using them more and in different ways. I used them with Golden gel medium, probably inspired by this tutorial from Heather Greenwood Designs. It was the final kick in the butt to go and buy the Gelatos that I had been eyeing on the pegs in Michaels.

sandollarext

sanddollarint

I just did the background this time as it was the first time using the pigments and I wanted to see how it went. I mixed Metallic Mint and Metallic Blueberry from the Metallics set in to the medium and used a sponge to get it on there. I just used a plastic knife to shave off the pigment and a plastic spoon to mix it up. It almost turned out nicer with some bits staying more solid and streaking on the card. I was hoping for a more marbled effect, but close up it still has a watery look.

The sand dollars are stamped, and I used glitter glue on the front for a bit of embellishment. The edges are inked with the same colour as the stamps and I used a corner punch.

On the inside, the anchor is stamped and I happened to have a marker a colour that matched so I used that for the text and flourish, which was drawn to emulate that on the front. Again, inked edges and corner punch.

All in all it turned out kind of pretty. I can’t wait to try the Gelatos as-is (like a crayon) to see how wet they get. Maybe they can be used on thinner journal pages.

Thoughts?

