Halloween craft – door sign

Hello. I am making up a storm here and thought I would show you one of the projects I am working on.

These are Halloween door signs. One side is for when you have candy, and you flip the sign over when you’re out. Anyone who reads the sign is less likely to knock. Sometimes little kids miss cues like lights being off and so it is just an extra thing to ensure trick or treaters (or their parents) that you are indeed out of candy (or keeping it all for yourself while you watch a scary movie in the dark…)

I took blank wooden signs from Michaels that already had the ripped edges and the string attached. I used gel medium as a base coat, acrylics to colour, gesso to stamp and Mod Podge to seal. The “no more candy” side was done on orange to make it easier to see in the dark.

IMG_1348abogap
In progress. I  ❤ stamping with gesso!
IMG_1354abogap
I made a stencil for the cauldron for consistency.

 

I think they are pretty cute and hopefully people agree! These are being made for my upcoming vendor table, but if you are interested in one let me know 😉

As always, let me know what you think. Would you use a sign like this? Is the message of “empty cauldron” clear enough to be understood? Comment below 😀

2 Comments Add yours

  1. PaperPuff says:

    Great idea. They would work really well in the UK because not many people get involved in trick or treating. If you had one on display it would kind of let kids know that it was ok to knock!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

