Halloween craft – countdown blocks

I am super excited to share these Halloween countdown blocks with you. It was a project I worked on all throughout September (along with many other things). I ended up with 13 large sets and 10 small sets, but hopefully that will be enough.

img_1515abogap
large set in back, small set in foreground

Materials:
wooden blocks – 3 per set (1.5″ for small and 2″ for large, from Michaels)
Halloween paper (here: Boo and Ravenshead Manor 12×12 stacks from Michaels)
paper trimmer
Mod Podge
sponge brush
number stickers
acrylic paint in Halloween colours

  1. Prime the blocks. I used gel medium.
  2. Paint the blocks. I used sets of orange, black and purple.
  3. Cut squares of paper, making them small enough for some paint to show.
  4. Adhere the paper with Mod Podge.

5. Once the Mod Podge is dry, stick on (or write on) your numbers. (See below)
6. Add a final coat of Mod Podge to seal and let dry.

NUMBERING:
Here is how I numbered my blocks so that you can count down all the way from 100:
BLOCK ONE: 1, 4, 5, 0, 3, 2
BLOCK TWO: 2, 8, 7, 1, 6, 0
BLOCK THREE: 3, 8, 5, 4, 7, 6

For the bases, I cut up some 2×6 and 2×4 lumber and painted them. I gave them a spritz of gold spray ink and used gesso to stamp on them.

img_1511abogap
The finished product!

TIP: Dry your blocks on something that prevents sticking, like parchment paper. This will keep your layers of Mod Podge and paint clean, instead of newspaper or cardboard sticking to them as they dry.

So what are your thoughts? I have to say this is the thing I am most excited to sell tomorrow at the Vancouver Halloween Parade and Expo. Only time will tell if these are something that other people want 🙂

Thoughts?

